Asia, Hong-Kong, Travel

Hong-Kong: 10,000 Buddhas Monastery & Victoria Harbour

My second day in Hong-Kong was quite an exhausting one. I tried my best to see almost everything I could in a short span of three days. As a sucker for street arts and cultural backgrounds, visiting religious sites is always part of my itinerary.
After breakfast, I headed out and walked around King’s road. I visited a Sikh temple close to my hotel, went to try my first ever cheese tart (worth every cent!) and roamed around Mong Kok and checked out  unique sneakers (didn’t find a cheap pair).
Besides the gigantic Buddha in Lantau Island, there’s another place in Hong Kong where you could see more Buddhas.

 

10,000 Buddhas Monastery

10,000 Buddhas Monastery is an old Buddhist temple located in Sha Tin, New Territories.  I should have done a lot of research before heading to this place. Don’t get me wrong, it was totally worth the climb, the only thing I regret is doing it on the same day I planned to go around Sneaker’s Street for a cheap shoe hunt.
How to Get There
 Exact Address: 221 Pai Tau Village, Sha Tin, New Territories
Since my hotel is just a 5-minute walk from the MTR station in King’s Road, it was easy for me to reach the place as I just needed to take the train going to Sha Tin station.
The moment I saw bunch of monks, I knew I was close to the Monastery, they were trying to sell me beaded bracelets but I simply said no and walked away, I wasn’t sure if they were legit monks but I was aware I didn’t need to purchase or pay anything to get inside the monastery.
After passing through the “monks”, I was welcomed by a pavement going up and two lines of unique golden monk statues on both sides of the path leading up to the actual monastery.

Each monk is unique with various facial expressions; a good distraction from more than 400 steps leading to the temple.

I opted to wear pants that day knowing that I will spend some time in a monastery, though I didn’t see any signage about proper attire, I think, it’s best to wear something appropriate as respect to their religion and culture. Or you could always bring a scarf and use it as a cover up once you reached the sacred spot.

The Ten Thousand Buddhas Monastery is built on a hill beside a bamboo forest, overlooking the entire Sha Tin. The actual 10,000 Buddhas are situated inside the temple at the top of the hill, outside the monastery are more religious statues, and a vegan eatery which I skipped for I couldn’t understand the menu.

Across the temple lies the pagoda that you can climb to but wasn’t able to do so because of some renovation.

It was around noon time when I decided to leave the place. Lucky for me, there’s a pizza place near the MTR station. I went straight to Mong Kok after Sha Tin then headed to one of my most favourite spots in Hong Kong, Victoria Harbour.

 

You might want to read: Philippines: Island of Kalanggaman

 

 

Victoria Harbour 

I was debating with myself on the train ride back to North Point if I could still manage a brief walk to Tsim Sha Tsui that evening. I spent the entire day climbing up to the 10,000 Buddhas Monastery in Sha Tin, walking around sneakers streets and went hunting for the best cheese tart in town that my co-worker was telling me about. Not sure who won but I just caught myself dragging my suffering feet through Jordan road heading to the bay area.
Breathtaking, isn’t it?

 

How to Get There
Victoria Harbour is located in between Kowloon and Hong Kong Island, if you’re on a tight budget and would prefer not to ride a cab, the fastest and easiest way to reach this place is through MTR via Tsim Sha Tsui Station. And since my hotel is located at the other side, I walked to the Star Ferry pier and opted to do an enjoyable 10-minute commuter ferry ride back to Central.

 

Victoria Harbour was originally known as Hong Kong Harbour, it is currently one of the most famous, well-visited sites in Hong-Kong. A lot of tourists (and non tourist) gather here to have a breathtaking view of the glimmering skyscrapers on the other side of the bay.

It was pretty cold when I visited Hong Kong, even the hotel pool was close because it was their winter season, total opposite of Manila’s hot weather. Fortunately, I brought my army jacket with me and didn’t wear a short shorts.
You could see through the waves that it was pretty windy that night but was still safe enough to enjoy a ferry ride.

I was busy taking photos when this group of people approached me, the guy is from Indonesia and the rest of them are from Hong-Kong, it was a nice chit chat as I told him how much I enjoyed my trip to Bali. It was in the middle of our conversation when I heard a woman talking, encouraging people to gather near the bay as the Symphony of Light show was about to start.
A Symphony of Light
If you think you’re done staring and taking photos of the amazing view, hang around for a bit and wait for the laser light and sound show that happens every night at 8pm for about 15 minutes. It’s free. Just make sure, you stay at the Tsim Sha Tsui water front just outside the  Hong Kong Cultural Center.

Another thing I wanted to see in Tsim Sha Tsui was the Clock tower, but they were renovating it. Not too far from it were the ferry station and few souvenir shops. I headed next to Central and took the train back to King’s road.
Hong Kong is 2 hours away from where I live, I could always fly back to see more of the place yet I’m not sure when will I able to do so. This one is something I look forward to seeing again.

Have you visited Hong Kong? Tell me about your favourite spots? 🙂

 

Read Next:  Hong-Kong: Lantau Island & North Point

2 thoughts on “Hong-Kong: 10,000 Buddhas Monastery & Victoria Harbour”

Leave a Reply

